The Afghan Whigs


The Afghan Whigs First Three Sub Pop Releases To Be Released On 180-Gram Vinyl On September 8th

The Afghan Whigs first three releases on Sub Pop Records - Up In It, Congregation and the Uptown Avondale EP will be released on 180-gram vinyl on September 8th via the Sub Pop Megamart and at the merch table for all upcoming Afghan Whigs North American shows.  Retail stores will begin carrying these titles on September 22nd

Both Congregation and Up In It have been out of print on vinyl for several years now and Uptown Avondale has never been available on vinyl in the U.S. ever.  All three titles will also have special Sub Pop "Loser" editions as well (details below).

The Afghan Whigs are currently in Europe for a brief second leg of their tour which includes performances at Way Out West Festival, Haldern Pop Festival, Flow Festival and Pukkelpop.  The band will begin their North American tour on September 6th at a Sold Out show in Orlando, FL.  The tour includes three Canadian shows (Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver) and the band will be playing several markets they haven't visited in years (Richmond, Birmingham, Kansas City, Houston).

In Spades, the group's spellbinding new album is available on CD / 180 gram-LP / CS / DL worldwide from Sub Pop. Led by the singles "Demon In Profile," "Oriole," and "Arabian Heights" along with standouts "Copernicus," and "Toy Automatic," it is the follow-up to the band's internationally acclaimed Do to the BeastIn Spades was recorded in New Orleans, Los Angeles, Memphis and Joshua Tree and written and produced by Greg Dulli.

The Afghan Whigs have released two videos from the album so far: "Demon In Profile," directed by longtime collaborator Phil Harder [link here] and "Oriole" helmed by erotic art director Amy Nicole Hood  [link here].

Full details on the reissues here: 


LOSER EDITION DESCRIPTION: Sub Pop's Loser edition is transparent blue vinyl with white swirl. 


  1. Retarded
  2. White Trash Party
  3. Hated
  4. Southpaw
  5. Amphetamines And Coffee
  6. Now We Can Begin
  7. You My Flower
  8. Son Of The South
  9. I Know Your Little Secret


LOSER EDITION DESCRIPTION: Sub Pop's Loser edition is transparent red with white swirl.

DETAILS: Record turned into a double LP with gatefold packaging to be played at 45 rpm.


  1. Her Against Me
  2. I'm Her Slave
  3. Turn On the Water
  4. Conjure Me
  5. Kiss the Floor
  6. Congregation
  7. This Is My Confession
  8. Dedicate It
  9. The Temple
  10. Let Me Lie to You
  11. Tonight
  12. Miles Iz Ded (hidden track)


LOSER EDITION DESCRIPTION: Sub Pop's Loser edition is silver metallic vinyl.


  1. Band Of Gold
  2. True Love Travels On A Gravel Road
  3. Come See About Me
  4. Beware
  5. Rebirth Of The Cool

August 9, 2017 10:00 AM

← View More News

© 2017 - All Rights Reserved
the afghan whigs: in spades

In Spades

The new album from
The Afghan Whigs

In Stores Now

" a beast reawakened and ready to do damage once again." - Pitchfork

"...and will stand as one of the Afghan Whigs’ finest and most ambitious works." - PopMatters

More Info
the afghan whigs: gentlemen at 21

Gentlemen at 21. Deluxe edition remastered with 17 rare bonus tracks.

More Information »

Double CD Set | LP | Digital

Subscribe to The Afghan Whigs Newsletter